image2

About Jessie

Jessie's Bio

  

I am many things:

I am an artist.

I am a dancer.

I am a musician.

I am a healer.

I am a mother.

I am a wife.

I am a traveler.

I grew up all around; my father was in the military so my family moved around every 2-3 ½ years. I was born in Spokane, WA; moved to Fort Belvoir, Virginia when I was two weeks old; came back to Spokane for a year while my dad was station in South Korea while I was 4/5 years old; moved to Schweinfurt, Germany where i started kindergarten and left when I was half way through 2nd grade; moved to Hattiesburg, MS( lived through Hurricane Katrina). Towards the three year mark in our stay in Hattiesburg my dad put in his paperwork for retirement due to his higher ups not listening to his requests. After his paperwork was in we moved back up to Spokane to live closer to my mom’s side of the family. This is where I have been for the last ten or so years now. 

i have always enjoyed art. I grow up drawing and painting. It has always been a part of me. The older i became the more art became a way for me to express myself without words since I have a hard time putting my thoughts into words. I become tongue tied too easily and become frustrated and i somewhat shut down so art became that outlet of communicating my thoughts and feelings. I tend to find inspiration through the non-Disney fairy tale, mythology, folk lores, folk art, and mixing different cultures ways. I also like using a lot of symbols in my artwork-like some of the flowers i pick for a piece will have a meaning all their own; example: primary symbolizes rebirth, new beginnings, and coming of spring they also mean Creativity, Inspiration, Renewal and Vitality, Awareness and Inner Reflection, Memory, and Forgiveness.

I love to garden- flowers and veggies/herbs, i like taking hikes, swimming, traveling, cooking/baking, learning new about new cultures, playing with my son, teaching my son art, dancing, listening/playing music; i seem to like doing a lot of things.

My parents have been married for almost 32 years now. I have an older brother who is 6 ½ years older than me. I am living with my man and we are raising our son together.